CA Water-Info

E-mail | Map | Search | -

Amudarya River Basin

Reservoirs and flow regulation

More than 35 reservoirs were constructed in the Amudarya basin with a capacity of over 10 million m3 each. The aggregate capacity of these water reservoirs exceeds 29.8 km3. The Amudarya cascade of reservoirs operates according to specific scheme, allowing regulation by two main river channel reservoirs (Nurek and Tuyamuyun) and several on-system reservoirs on the Karakum, Karshi and Amu-Bukhara canals and small rivers. Total capacity of reservoirs on the main river is about 17 km3. The principle scheme of flow regulation regime along the Amudarya is as following. The Nurek water reservoir provides multi-year water storage for area up to Kerki gauging station. Water releases depend on run-off variations of the Pyandj, Kafirnigan, Surkhandarya and Kunduz rivers, and water demands of downstream area from Kerki. Tuyamuyun reservoir is operating with a seasonal regime. It catches over released water from the Nurek reservoir and some additional flow of the Amudarya. Releases from it start usually in February-March.

Nurek reservoir and HPS

Tuyamuyun hydroscheme

As level regime in the river is very important issue for providing of the required withdrawal to the main canals, their intakes schedule should be agreed with releases from the Nurek reservoir. Intake to the Karakum canal executes during low flow, and vs, to the Karshi and Amu-Bukhara during high flow along the river. BWO is responsible for monitoring these processes in linkage with water storage in the Nurek and Tuyamuyun reservoirs.

On-system reservoirs are playing role of seasonal water storage (unconsumed autumn-winter flow). Some of them were constructed within the cascades of pumping stations: Talimardjan reservoir on the Karshi canal with a capacity of 1.5 km3, Tudakul and Kuyumazar reservoirs on the Amu-Bukhara canal. The same and also as sediment regulator Hauskhan reservoir on the Karakum canal with capacity of 0.9 km3. A few water reservoirs were constructed on the small rivers. These are South Surkhan reservoir on the Surkhandarya river with total capacity of 800 million m3, reservoirs on the Tedjen and the Murgab rivers, and 14 small reservoirs in the Kashkadarya river basin with total capacity about 1.5 km3.

If constructed, the Rogun reservoir on the Vakhsh river can increase the degree of multi-year regulation of the Amudarya up to 0.86. Today it is about 0.76. At existing reservoir capacities, the guaranteed yield of water in low water years (90 percent probability) may reach up to 62 km3. However, in the past seven years, the irrigation-and-hydropower mode of operation for which the reservoirs were designed has sharply changed in favor of hydropower. In spite of the Nurek reservoir is currently operating in the hydropower mode the capacity of the Tuyamuyum reservoir is enough for compensation those changes in flow regime.

Бассейн реки Амударьи

Бассейн реки Амударьи: водохранилища и регулирование стока

В бассейне р. Амударьи было построено более 35 водохранилищ емкостью свыше 10 млн.м3 каждое. Полная емкость этих водохранилищ превышает 29,8 км3. Амударьинский каскад водохранилищ работает согласно конкретной схеме, позволяющей регулировать двумя основными реками русловые водохранилища (Нурекское и Туямуюнское) и несколько внутрисистемных водохранилищ на Каракумском, Каршинском и Аму-Бухарском каналах и малых реках. Общая емкость водохранилищ на главной реке равна приблизительно 17 км3. Основная схема режима регулирования стока р. Амударьи следующая. Нурекское водохранилище обеспечивает многолетний запас воды вплоть до створа Керки. Попуски воды зависят от изменений стока рек Пяндж, Кафирниган, Сурхандарья и Кундуз, а также от спроса на воду на площади ниже по течению от Керки. Туямуюнское водохранилище работает в сезонном режиме. Оно собирает сброшенную воду из Нурекского водохранилища и дополнительный сток Амударьи. Попуски из него обычно начинаются в феврале-марте.

Нурекское водохранилище и ГЭС

Туямуюнский гидроузел

Поскольку режим уровня в реке очень важный вопрос в обеспечении требуемого водоотведения в магистральные каналы, их график водозаборов должен быть согласован с попусками из Нурекского водохранилища. Водозабор в Каракумский канал происходит при маловодье и, наоборот, в Каршинский и Аму-Бухарский каналы - во время половодья. БВО отвечает за мониторинг этих процессов в увязке с сохранением воды в Нурекском и Туямуюнском водохранилищах.

Внутрисистемные водохранилища играют важную роль в сезонном запасе воды (неиспользованный осенне-весенний сток). Некоторые из них построены на каскадах насосных станций: Талимарджанское водохранилище на Каршинском канале емкостью 1,5 км3, Тудакульское и Куюмазарское водохранилища на Аму-Бухарском канале. Дополнительную роль регулятора осадков играет Хаусханское водохранилище на Каракумском канале емкостью 0,9 км3. Несколько водохранилищ построено на малых реках. Это Южное Сурханское водохранилище на реке Сурхандарья общей емкостью 800 млн. м3, водохранилища на реках Теджен и Мургаб, а также 14 водохранилищ в бассейне р. Кашкадарьи общей емкостью примерно 1,5 км3.

В случае строительства Рогунского водохранилища на р. Вахш степень многолетнего регулирования Амударьи может увеличиться до 0,86. Сегодня она примерно равна 0,76. При суммарной емкости существующих водохранилищ гарантированный объем воды в маловодные годы (90% вероятности) может достигать 62 км3. Однако, за последние семь лет режим эксплуатации ирригационных и гидроэнергетических сооружений, для которых были спроектированы водохранилища, резко изменился в пользу гидроэнергетики. Несмотря на то, что Нурекское водохранилище работает в гидроэнергетическом режиме, емкости Туямуюнского водохранилища достаточно для того, чтобы компенсировать изменения в режиме стока.