Amudarya river basin

Water management infrastructure

The main tasks of water management system is regulation of flow, delivery of water to all water users, the main of which is irrigation, and preservation of the environment.

The large-scale irrigated farming in Amudarya basin is mostly based on a well developed system of irrigation and drainage facilities, including unique projects such as the Karshi Steppe, where pumping stations with a total capacity of 350 m3/sec lift water for 180 m, Amu-Bukhara canal lifts about 200 m3/sec of water for 130 m, and a several large-scale gravity irrigation systems with the longest in the World Karakum canal, which length is about 1000 km and the mean annual water withdrawal is about 700 m3/sec. Karakum canal diverted about 18 km3 of water per year from the flow of the Amudarya river to the southern part of Turkmenistan.

At the same time there are some old irrigation systems, mostly in Karakalpakstan and Khorezm, where irrigation network represented by unlined canals and drainage systems with open drains. Table shows the situation with existed irrigated area in the Amudarya river basin.

Irrigated area in the Amudarya River basin

Country

Irrigated area brutto, thousands ha

1960

1980

1985

1990

1995

2000

2005

2010

Kyrgyzstan

5,0

21,8

22,0

22,3

23,8

24,2

22,4

22,1

Tajikistan

210,0

417,7

450,2

462,4

455,2

453,6

494,4

498,7

Turkmenistan

435,0

928

1158,0

1294,9

1671,9

1738,8

1817,8

1869,0

Uzbekistan

1625,0

1907,0

2191,8

2363,9

2390,0

2376,3

2433,6

2422,8

Total the basin

2275

3275

3822

4144

4541

4593

4768

4813



There are specific complications in the Amudarya basin dealing with the problem location of headwater structures of some main canals on the territory of the neighboring country. For example, headwater structures of the Karshi canal and Amu-Bukhara canal, which delivery water from Amudarya to the territory of Uzbekistan, and about 150 km of those canals are located on the territory of Turkmenistan. The same, Tashauz canal begins on the territory of Uzbekistan, and then passed the water to the Turkmen territory. To regulate operational problems for these canals there was signed a special bilateral agreement between Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

бассейн реки Амударьи

Водохозяйственная структура бассейна реки Амударьи

Основными задачами системы управления водными ресурсами являются: регулировка стока, подача воды всем водопользователям, самыми главными из которых считаются орошение и охрана окружающей среды.

Крупномасштабное орошаемое земледелие в бассейне р. Амударьи, в основном, базируется на хорошо развитой системе ирригационных и дренажных сооружений, включая уникальные проекты, такие как Каршинская степь, где насосные станции общей мощностью 350 м3/с поднимают воду на высоту 180 м, Аму-Бухарский канал поднимает воду с расходом 200 м3/с на 130 м, а также несколько крупномасштабных гравитационных систем орошения с самым длинным в мире Каракумским каналом; его длина равна приблизительно 1000 км и средний ежегодный расход составляет около 700 м3/с. Каракумский канал отводит около 18 км3 воды в год из р. Амударьи в южную часть Туркменистана.

В то же время существуют некоторые старые ирригационные системы, особенно в Каракалпакстане и Хорезме, где ирригационная сеть представлена необлицованными каналами и дренажными системами с открытыми дренами. Таблица показывает обстановку на существующей орошаемой территории в бассейне р. Амударьи.

Орошаемая площадь в бассейне реки Амударьи

Страна

Орошаемая площадь брутто, тыс. га

1960

1980

1985

1990

1995

2000

2005

2010

Кыргызстан

5,0

21,8

22,0

22,3

23,8

24,2

22,4

22,1

Таджикистан

210,0

417,7

450,2

462,4

455,2

453,6

494,4

498,7

Туркменистан

435,0

928

1158,0

1294,9

1671,9

1738,8

1817,8

1869,0

Узбекистан

1625,0

1907,0

2191,8

2363,9

2390,0

2376,3

2433,6

2422,8

Всего по бассейну

2275

3275

3822

4144

4541

4593

4768

4813



Имеются определенные трудности в бассейне р. Амударьи, связанные с проблемой расположения головных сооружений некоторых магистральных каналов на территории соседней страны. Например, головные сооружения Каршинского канала, который транспортирует воду из Амударьи на территорию Узбекистана, а также около 150 км каналов расположены на территории Туркменистана. Та же самая ситуация с Ташаузским каналом, который берет начало на территории Узбекистана, а затем несет свои воды в Туркменистан. Чтобы урегулировать эксплуатационные проблемы этих каналов, было подписано специальное двустороннее соглашение между Туркменистаном и Узбекистаном.