CA Water-Info

Map | Search | -

General information about basin

The Surkhandarya River in Uzbekistan is the right tributary of the Amudarya River.

It is formed by the confluence of the Tupalangdarya and Karatag Rivers flowing from the southern slope of the Hissar Mountain. The left tributary of the Surkhandarya, the Karatag River, is located in Tajikistan. The length of the Surkhandarya River is 175 km (287 km from the Karatag River mouth); basin area is 13,500 km2. High-water season is from June to August. At 6 km from the mouth (Manguzar section), average water discharge is 65.8 m3/s. Water is used for irrigation. The Tupalang, South Surkhan, Aktepa, and Uchkyzyl reservoirs are located on the river.

Main tributaries are Sangardak and Khalkadjar (on the right). They are fed with snow and rain waters. High-water season is from March to July; the maximum flow is in May. Salinity (hydrocarbonate-calcium type) is increased downstream, and in the mouth it is 1 g/l during low-water season.

The Surkhandarya oasis is a depression surrounded by highlands on the west, north, and east and the largest Amudarya River on the south. Its main water courses are the Surkhandarya and Sherabad rivers. They flow from north to south into the Amudarya, and thus form the Surkhan-Sherabad basin. The Surkhan-Sherabad valley starts at the foot of the Hissar Mountain on the north and north-east and has the form of a narrow valley. Then it gradually lowers and becomes broader to the south to the Amudarya River. It is surrounded by the branches of the Hissar Mountain on the east, north, and west, which protect the valley from northern cold air mass. Whereas, southern and south-western parts of the Surkhandarya province are open for tropical air mass. These orographic features determine nature and climate conditions typical for this area.

The area of province is 20.1 thousand km (4.48% of the total area of the Republic of Uzbekistan). It borders with the Republic of Tajikistan on the north and north-east, Afghanistan on the south (the border stretches along the Amudarya), and Turkmenistan on the south and west. The province is divided into 13 administrative districts, namely Denau, Saryasiya, Uzun, Altynsay, Shurchi, Baysun, Kumkurgan, Djarkurgan, Termez, Angor, Sherabad, Kyzyryk, and Muzrabad. Termez city is the administrative center.

The vast mountain range stretches up to the borders with Tajikistan. It is split with tributaries of the Tupalangdarya: Duoba, Shatrut (Shakhturud), Tamshush, Khovat, Kshtut (Kishtut). The highest point of the Republic, the Uzbekistan pike or former XXII Congress of the CPSU pike (4,688 m above sea), is located in this part of the Hissar mountain in the Saryasiya district, upstream of Tupalangdaryas tributaries Kshtut and Bodamistan. While the pike itself is located at the Uzbek-Tajik border, however this section of the Hissar Mountain (basins of the Tupalangdarya and left tributaries of the Aksu River) is the highest in Uzbekistan, with huge number of mountain pikes exceeding 4,000 m. There are just a few: Khodjapiryakh (4,425 m), Zagrakh (4,333 m), Gava (4,153 m), Khodjakarshavar (4,302 m), Karaduklysh (4,101 m), Kulikapon (4,214 m), Chedyr (or Chedyrsan 4,411 m), and Khazarkhana (4,450 m).

Graphs

Оперативные данные по водозаборам

Выберите год:




Таблицы с данными открываются
в новом окне

Источник: БВО «Амударья»

Карта бассейна

Общие сведения о бассейне р. Сурхандарьи

Сурхандарья — река в Узбекистане, правый приток Амударьи.

Образуется при слиянии рек Тупалангдарья и Каратаг, стекающих с южного склона Гиссарского хребта. Левая составляющая р. Сурхандарьи – река Катараг расположена на территории Таджикистана. Длина реки Сурхандарья составляет 175 км (от истока р. Каратаг — 287 км), площадь бассейна 13 500 км2. Половодье длится с июня по август. Средний расход воды в 6 км от устья (створ Мангузар) составляет 65,8 м3/с. Используется для орошения. На реке находятся Тупалангское, Южно-Сурханское, Актепинское и Учкизилское водохранилища.

Основные притоки Сангардак и Халкаджар (справа). Питание снегодождевое, половодье с марта по июль, максимальный сток в мае. Минерализация воды по составу гидрокарбонатно-кальциевая) повышается вниз по течению и в устье в межень достигает 1 г/л.

Сурхандарьинский оазис представляет собой впадину, окаймленную с запада, севера и востока горными хребтами, а с юга ограничивается самой многоводной рекой Средней Азии – Амударьей. Главные водные артерии Сурхандарьинского оазиса - реки Сурхандарья и Шерабад, протекая с севера на юг и впадая в Амударью, образуют Сурхан-Шерабадский бассейн. Сурхан-Шерабадская долина, начинаясь от подножий отрогов Гиссарского хребта на севере и северо-востоке, где имеет вид узкой долины, постепенно снижаясь и расширяясь к югу вплоть до Амударьи, окружена с востока, севера и запада отрогами Гиссарского хребта, защищающими долину от вторжения холодных воздушных масс с севера. Южные же и юго-западные просторы Сурхандарьинской области открыты для проникновения теплых тропических воздушных масс. Эти орографические особенности обуславливают характерные для данной территории природные и климатические черты.

Территория региона составляет 20,1 тыс. км (4,48% от общей площади Республики Узбекистан). Она граничит на севере и северо-востоке с Республикой Таджикистан, на юге – с Республикой Афганистан (граница проходит вдоль Амударьи), на юге и западе – с Республикой Туркменистан. Область делится на 13 административных округов, а именно: Денауский, Сариассийский, Узунский, Алтынсайский, Шурчинский, Байсунский, Кумкурганский, Джаркурганский, Термезский, Ангорский, Шерабадский, Кизирикский, Музрабадский. Административный центр – Термез.

До границ с Таджикистаном простирается обширный высокий горный массив, расчлененный такими притоками Тупалангдарьи как: Дуоба, Шатрут (Шахтуруд), Тамшуш, Ховат, Кштут (Киштут). В этой части отрогов Гиссарского хребта, на территории Сариасийского района Сурхандарьи, в верховьях притоков Тупалангдарьи - Кштут и Бодамистан, находится высшая точка всей республики - 4688 м над у.м. – пик Узбекистан (бывш. пик им XXII съезда КПСС), правда сам пик находится на границе Узбекистана и Таджикистана, тем не менее, горы этой части Гиссарского хребта (бассейн реки Тупалангдарьи и левых притоков реки Аксу) являются самыми высокими на территории Узбекистана, где вершин превышающих четырехтысячную отметку предостаточно. Вот некоторые из них: Ходжапирьях (4425 м), Заграх (4333 м), Гава (4153 м), Ходжакаршавар (4302 м), Карадуклыш (4101 м), Куликапон (4214 м), Чедыр (или Чедырсань - 4411 м), Хазархана (4450).

Графики